How to compute a global score (in %) excluding missing value

Moderators: statman, Analyst Techy, andris, Fierce, GerineL, Smash

JazzFinder

How to compute a global score (in %) excluding missing value

Postby JazzFinder » Wed Jul 09, 2014 1:40 pm

Please bare with me. I'm not a statistician and I'm doing my best in English (obviously it is not my native language.

I'm having a simple problem (for you) but a huge mountain for a musician like me (one of my hobbies between gigs and being on the road is statistics... Yeah, crazy, I know...) It reminds me of the good ol' time when I was a college student.

I have a data set resulting from a simple questionnaire to an audience for a giving bar. It was intended mainly for measuring their actual satisfaction and future requests/suggestions. Most of the satisfaction questions have a simple 4-point scale (1 to 4 - 'Strongly disagree' thru 'Strongly agree'). Usually, positions 3-4 are positive responses (but sometimes the questions are reversed, so 1-2 become the positive responses).

I recoded these questions to 1 (ex-1-2) or 2 (ex-3-4), with 5 being missing values (I can recode them to 0 or to any givibg values if needed).

So here is the fun:
I'm not interested in analysing each satisfaction variable by itself. Questions have a given logic that I developed to suit specific needs. For example, variables (questions) V01, V02, V03 and V04 treat all one aspect of the same subject: quality of service at the music restaurant/bar. Questions V05 to V10 are about quality of sound, etc.

My objective:
I need to compute a combined total score (% satisfaction), for example of V01 to V04, where:
V01 and V02 are positive at value 2
V03 and V04 are positive at value 1

Satisfaction Service (%)= SUM (V01(2) V02(2) V03(1) V04(1)
DIVIDED BY The total number of answers recieved (excluding missing values)