Professor wants data to look better than it is, is this ok?

Moderators: statman, Analyst Techy, andris, Fierce, GerineL, Smash

Singalore

Professor wants data to look better than it is, is this ok?

Postby Singalore » Tue Apr 07, 2015 11:41 am

I hope this is the right place to post this question.

I'm doing my thesis based upon the data of my professors research study. I want to look into wether 2 different psychological treatment conditions affects depression compared to a control group, how they differ, and wether former treatment and medication can predict the outcome (probably through logistic regression).

Frequency analysis of all 3 groups shows that only 25% had been cured. However, analyzing only the two active groups cured 38 individuals 27.1% which gives me a "better" result but a smaller sample size.

Any ideas on which path I should choose? Of course I want a better result, but it feels somewhat wrong to go for the smaller sample size. What would you do?
Last edited by Singalore on Thu Apr 09, 2015 1:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
statman
Administrator

Re: Professor wants data to look better than it is, is this

Postby statman » Tue Apr 07, 2015 11:55 am

45 cases is simply not enough to meet both "power" "effect size" needs - Unless, the "population" is that small?

And ...
See the note below

NOTE: Please read the Posting Guidelines and always tell us your OS, the SPSS version and information about your study and data!

Statman
Statistical Services
Singalore

Postby Singalore » Tue Apr 07, 2015 12:25 pm

Sorry, I'm working on a Mac, OS X Yosemite, SPSS version 22.