Stuck with coding a simple (?) macro.

Moderators: statman, Analyst Techy, andris, Fierce, GerineL, Smash

shijin83

Stuck with coding a simple (?) macro.

Postby shijin83 » Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:57 pm

Dear fellow SPSS Users.

I spent hours searching the net and reading tutorials, but I simply didn't find a solution for my problem. Maybe somebody here is able to help me out or at least point me in the right direction. I hope I will be able to explain my problem in an easy to understand way (I am not native English, so my apologies for any mistakes).

The Situation:
I faced myself with a task where I needed to manually calculate 350 different variables in SPSS so I decided to put in the effort and try and learn coding Macros and save a lot of time in the future. I am a newbie to programming, though, and ultimately I wasn't able to elaborate a working macro to solve my problem.

I have three variables in a dataset that I need to do some calculations with:
Agglo00_No stores numeric values for categories ranging from 1 to 50.
st_typ stores numeric values for categories ranging from 1 to 3.
METERS stores travel distances as numeric values.

Now, I would like to create a new variable for each combination of the categories (stored in the first two variables) which leads to having to calculate 350 new variables.

The Problem:
With my knowledge at the moment, I would have to calculate the variables manually. This is not a very dynamic and a very tedious task to do, so I decided to (try and) use a macro. The way I would code the syntax manually is as follows:

Code: Select all

DATASET ACTIVATE segmente_agglo.
IF (Agglo00_No = 1 & st_typ = 1) a01_1=METERS. 
IF (Agglo00_No = 2 & st_typ = 1) a02_1=METERS. 
IF (Agglo00_No = 1 & st_typ = 2) a01_2=METERS. 
IF (Agglo00_No = 2 & st_typ = 2) a02_2=METERS. 
and so on...