Detailed Assistance Needed! Please Help!

Moderators: statman, Analyst Techy, andris, Fierce, GerineL, Smash

lisaz0224

Detailed Assistance Needed! Please Help!

Postby lisaz0224 » Fri Nov 07, 2014 11:22 pm

Hi everyone. I am a high school student conducting a research project. At this point
my data collection is complete and entered into SPSS. However, I am completely unfamiliar with the program and I have a lot of data, so I need heavy assistance with things many of you may consider very basic. I would be very grateful if you could explain to me step-by-step how to accomplish each of these tasks. Here is a summary of my project, and the data I have already entered into the program:

I have four lists of forty words each, named 1, 2, 3, and 4. In lists 1, 2, and 3 there are two corresponding variables for each word (let’s call them variables a and b). Therefore, each of those lists contains eighty variables. List 4 is a little different; it contains the same variables a and b as the first three lists, but it contains an additional variable ‘c’. I would like to attach a diagram, but here is the best I can explain. The columns across the top of the page go like this:

|word1a | word1b | word2a | word2b|...|word40b|word41a | word41b |...|word80b| word81a |...|word120b|word121a|word121b|word121c|word122a|word122b|word122c|...|word160c|.

Variables of List 1 are black and bold
Variables of List 2 are black
Variables of List 3 are red
Variables of List 4 are red and bold

I have 360 columns in my data sheet, and I have 50 rows. All the data is numerical (exclusively 1s and 0s), or missing. Here is what I would like to do: