.TXT Import Lines Per Case Limit?

Moderators: statman, Analyst Techy, andris, Fierce, GerineL, Smash

Ezrahite17
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 3:08 pm

.TXT Import Lines Per Case Limit?

Postby Ezrahite17 » Thu Jun 25, 2015 6:44 pm

Hi all,

I am trying to import a .txt file that was exported with multiple lines of code counting as a single case.

E.g., All of these rows are for subject 1, and can be imported into a single row in SPSS.

1 1DM 7.1667 6.9167 5.2500 5.6667 5.7500 6.0833 6.0000
1 2DM 6.2500 5.4167 6.1667 5.3333 5.8333 5.4167 5.8333
1 3DM 3.7500 3.4167 7.0833 6.5833 3.5000 4.0000
1 4SM 7.5000 7.5000 5.0000 5.0000 6.7500 6.7500 7.0000
1 5SM 7.0000 6.2500 6.2500 6.5000 6.5000 5.5000 5.5000
1 6SM 4.7500 4.7500 6.7500 6.7500 4.5000 4.5000
1 7AA -0.1667 -0.2500 -0.4167 -0.7500 0.0833 -0.1667 0.0000
1 8AA -0.2500 0.0000 -0.3333 -0.2083 -0.1667 -0.1250 -0.1667
1 9AA -0.1250 0.0417 0.0833 -0.5417 -0.5000 -0.4583 -0.2500
1 10AA 0.7500 0.6667 1.2500 -0.2500 0.6667 0.1250 0.9167
1 11AA -0.5417 1.0000 -0.1667 0.4167 -0.2500 0.4167 0.1250
1 12AA 0.4167 0.3333 1.3750 0.5000 1.1250 -0.4167 0.6667
1 13AA 0.2500 1.0417 0.0000 0.9167 0.2500 1.1250 -0.2083
etc.....

When you import a .txt file into SPSS 17, it asks "How many lines represent a case?" which lets you do this correctly. BUT it gives an upper limit of 30 lines. Is there any way to increase this number? I had an earlier version of spss (I think 15) that did not have this restriction. If there is other software that could do this for me (in excel?) that would be great too.

Thanks for the help!
GerineL
Moderator
Posts: 1477
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 4:50 pm

Re: .TXT Import Lines Per Case Limit?

Postby GerineL » Wed Jul 01, 2015 9:05 am

you could just tell spss it is 1 line per case, and then use the identifier variable to restructure so that all information for person 1 is indeed on 1 line.
JonPedersen
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 7:07 am
Contact:

Re: .TXT Import Lines Per Case Limit?

Postby JonPedersen » Fri Jul 03, 2015 11:50 am

Hi,
I don't think there is any restriction, but it may depend on the command you are using. The import wizard uses the GET DATA command. However the documentation does not describe any limits. Also, if you use the old DATA LIST and has fixed format data it easily accepts 30 lines per case (does not work with delimited data, in contrast to the GET DATA).
best
jon

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron