Graph Y-axis "," to "."

Moderators: statman, Analyst Techy, andris, Fierce, GerineL, Smash

Namex
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:59 am

Graph Y-axis "," to "."

Postby Namex » Fri Sep 07, 2012 10:37 am

Hello,

I am about to submit a paper and my supervisor pointed out that the standard way to present data is with "." and not with ",". For instance: 0,12 is not acceptable while 0.12 is.

I have tried with countless measures trying to get SPSS to present a simple line graph displaying the Y-axis with "." instead of ",", and I have failed. There seem to be no way in which this can be done (much googling later) and that´s why I have turned to the Guru's on this forum.

My dataset (if it helps) consists of a numeric variable and one nominal variable. The numeric variable looks lite this:
V1
0,213
0,312
0,314
...

I am greatful for any kind of assistance in this matter!

Regards
/N
Penguin_Knight
Posts: 473
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 5:58 pm

Re: Graph Y-axis "," to "."

Postby Penguin_Knight » Fri Sep 07, 2012 11:00 am

Go to Edit > Options

Under the tag "Currency", you should see a panel called Decimal Separator, change that to "Period" instead of "Comma".

Remake the graph
Namex
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:59 am

Re: Graph Y-axis "," to "."

Postby Namex » Sat Sep 08, 2012 12:29 pm

I am afraid that it was set to "Period" by default. Neither the "Comma" or "Period" option formats the graph so that it says ex. ".13" instead of ",13".

Edit: My dataset looks like this:
,13
,11
,15
...
Not
0,13
0,11
0,15
Namex
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:59 am

Re: Graph Y-axis "," to "."

Postby Namex » Sat Sep 08, 2012 12:57 pm

RESOLVED:

Used the command SET LOCALE to change the overall language settings.

Thank you anyway :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron