survey dataset - combining cases

Moderators: statman, Analyst Techy, andris, Fierce, GerineL, Smash

newbie11

survey dataset - combining cases

Postby newbie11 » Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:28 am

Hi everyone:

I'm working with survey data. I'm interested in people who report having been victims of crime. The survey asks people several questions about whether they've been the victim of different types of crime (for example, stolen property, assault, and so on...).

What I want to do is combine all of those separate crime variables into a single variable that's just an aggregate victimization variable. I'm a total newbie (see the name!) so I don't know how to do this without making some mistake like counting cases twice (e.g. someone who reports having been the victim of multiple types of crime gets counted once for each crime reported).

I'm assuming (hoping!) that this is a "dumb" question. Can anyone help?

Thank you!
GerineL

Re: survey dataset - combining cases

Postby GerineL » Mon Feb 10, 2014 11:07 am

What does your datafile look like?
e.g., is there one line per case and then all the possible crime variables next to each other, or does one person have multiple lines for each crime?
newbie11

Postby newbie11 » Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:31 pm

I confess to not being entirely sure how to answer.

Each case (or survey respondent) is a row in the data set. Each crime variable is a column. So, "have you been assaulted in the last 12 months" is a column and it's next to "have you had property >$50 stolen in past 12 months?" And so on.

There are about five crime questions/variables in the data set.

Does that sort of get at what you asked me? I'm not sure. Thanks for the response!
GerineL

Postby GerineL » Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:56 pm

Ok so is there just 1 = yes 0 = no for each variable?
What do you want to compute?
A total of how many crimes? a mean over some other variable? What is it you want to achieve?
newbie11

Postby newbie11 » Mon Feb 10, 2014 1:40 pm