Visual display task

Moderators: statman, Analyst Techy, andris, Fierce, GerineL, Smash

Bartyboy

Visual display task

Postby Bartyboy » Thu Apr 10, 2014 1:33 pm

Hey,
Got another question.

I have used a visual status-display task, where Participants sequentially saw ten computerized visual displays, each containing images of six products (cf. Roskos-Ewoldsen & Fazio, 1992). For each display, the products were randomly arranged in a circle. Exposure to each display lasted one second after which participants had 25 s to write down what they had seen. Each display contained one status product; the remaining five products were functional products.

To measure recall probability, I have to calculate the proportion of recalled status products (number of recalled status products divided by 10) as well as the proportion of recalled functional products (number of recalled functional products divided by 50).

You could say that I'm a newbie in SPSS; so all the help that offers me guidance on how to accompish this processing of information would be verry appreciated. I need guidance in this.

--> 2 Questions :
1) What is the fastest way to recode those products into either functional or Luxury
2) How do I subsequently count those in order to be able to measure recall probability ?

Extra information: I have Windows Vista; Use Spss Statistics 20;Studying at Univerisity of Ghent (Belgium) for Applied Economics in my final Year.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Bartyboy on Fri Apr 11, 2014 9:53 am, edited 2 times in total.
statman
Administrator

Re: Visual display task

Postby statman » Thu Apr 10, 2014 6:24 pm

See the Note below then check into the RECODE function for starts
See the note below

NOTE: Please read the Posting Guidelines and always tell us your OS, the SPSS version and information about your study and data!

Statman
Statistical Services
Bartyboy

Postby Bartyboy » Fri Apr 11, 2014 6:44 am

Hey,