Error: could not open data file

Moderators: statman, Analyst Techy, andris, Fierce, GerineL, Smash

Xiada
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 7:44 pm

Error: could not open data file

Postby Xiada » Sat Jun 06, 2015 8:39 pm

Hi,
I am using SPSS for Windows 11.01
When I run a syntax to extract data from multiple text files, I am already unable to open the first file:

syntax:
GET DATA /TYPE = TXT
/FILE = 'C:\Arbeit\02-Modelle\PGes03-Netzmonitor\02-Quelldaten\A000_§.con'
/FIXCASE = 1
/ARRANGEMENT = FIXED
/FIRSTCASE = 1
/IMPORTCASE = ALL
/VARIABLES =
/1 V1 0-249 A250.
CACHE.
EXECUTE.

compute praxis=000.
compute file=§.
formats praxis file (f12.0).
exe.

By running this sequence I get always 6 error messages:
>Error. Command name: GET DATA
>(2269) Datei kann nicht geöffnet werden (file could not be opened) : C:\Arbeit\02-Modelle\PGes03-Netzmonitor\02-Quelldaten\A000_§.con
>This command not executed.

>Error # 105. Command name: EXECUTE
>This command is not valid before a working file has be defined.
>This command not executed.

>Error # 100. Command name: COMPUTE
>This command is not permitted before the beginning of file definition commands.
>This command not executed.

>Error # 100. Command name: COMPUTE
>This command is not permitted before the beginning of file definition commands.
>This command not executed.

>Error # 100. Command name: FORMATS
>This command is not permitted before the beginning of file definition commands.
>This command not executed.

>Error # 105. Command name: EXE
>This command is not valid before a working file has be defined.
>This command not executed.

I am quite new in using syntax for importing a lot of data and used this script from a friend who is not availble for helping me.
Hope, someone of You can give me some suggestions how I can get started.

Thanks in advance...

Xiada
GerineL
Moderator
Posts: 1477
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 4:50 pm

Re: Error: could not open data file

Postby GerineL » Mon Jun 08, 2015 11:45 am

if the data cannot be opened, you automatically get errors for the rest of the commands because these require a datafile.
try to open the data manually to see where the problem lies. usually this occurs when the path is not right (e.g., you moved the file).

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron